All about CELTA


The Cambridge English Language Assessment’s CELTA course (Certificate in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages) is an English language teaching qualification externally validated by the University of Cambridge. CELTA is placed at level 5 (formerly level 4) on the UK National Qualifications framework.

The Trinity CertTESOL (also Level 5) is equivalent in scope and value.

What is CELTA?

CELTA is an initial qualification for teaching English to adults.

Who is CELTA for?

CELTA is suitable for a wide range of people. It is the ideal qualification for those who want to start English language teaching anywhere in the world, no matter your level of other teaching experience.

What does CELTA involve?

You can take CELTA full time (typically four to five weeks), or part time (from a few months to over a year). Your chosen course:

  • teaches you the principles of effective teaching
  • provides a range of practical skills for teaching English to adult learners
  • gives you hands-on teaching practice.

There are five main units of learning:

  • Learners and teachers, and the teaching and learning context
  • Language analysis and awareness
  • Language skills: reading, listening, speaking and writing
  • Planning and resources for different contexts
  • Developing teaching skills and professionalism.

You will be assessed throughout the course, with no final examination. An external assessor, appointed by Cambridge ESOL, moderates each course. There are two components of assessment:

  1. Teaching practice: You will teach for a total of 6 hours, working with classes at two levels of ability. Assessment is based on your overall performance at the end of the 6 hours.
  2. Written assignments

You will complete four written assignments: adult learning; the English language system; language skills; and classroom teaching.

To be awarded the certificate you must pass both components. There are three grades — Pass, Pass ‘B’ and Pass ‘A’.

If you have the certificate and a degree you count as TEFL-I, meaning ‘initiated’. That means you can work for any British Council accredited language school without an additional rationale.

To find out more about CELTA visit the official CELTA website, or to find out more about CertTESOL visit the official Trinity College London website.

This entry was posted in Featured Posts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to All about CELTA


  1. Magaret-I says:

    The CELTA was one of the worst and also the best experiences of my life! It was certainly very hard but I am so pleased that I did it.

Leave a Reply